Thoughts on the Coronation

It’s nearly a month since the Coronation of King Charles III, and I intended to post something sooner than now. It’s a busy time of the year for people like myself, and the marking had to get done!

Anyway, I was pleased to be able to watch the Coronation in its entirety. I thought it was very well done, and the music was simply amazing. The organisers and everyone who took part deserve congratulations. There was a lot of talk beforehand about it having being scaled down, and the possible negative effects of that, but in the end it all seemed fine.

I also watched the Coronation Concert, and enjoyed it, although as I noted at the time, it could have been longer, so that the headline acts could have had longer sets. No doubt timings were limited due to the commitments of some of the key guests.

Last year I posted about the Platinum Jubilee celebrations, which I also enjoyed. I mentioned then, and also when the Queen’s death was announced, that I had some misgivings about whether Charles would make a good King. All I can say so far is that he has made a decent start. These days I do support the monarchy, mainly because, pragmatically speaking, the system we have is (in my view) better than any of the alternatives. We live in challenging times, and as long as the monarchy can provide some stability, it will have my support.

One thought on “Thoughts on the Coronation”

  1. I agree with you Rob on all points. I was offered a concert set of 2 tickets by ballot but since I didn’t respond immediately I lost out as it was first gone first served.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.