RIP David Bowie (1947-2016)

(This is a slightly longer version of the tribute I put on Facebook earlier this morning.)

Today is a sad day. I was 12 when David Bowie released the album containing my favourite Bowie track, Space Oddity, in 1969. I had a very conservative, classical musical upbringing (the Beatles were tolerated at home, but not much else!) Bowie’s music had an immediate impact, even on the mind of an immature pre-teen! Since then, his music has always been somewhere in my conscience, and although it is a cliche, I can truly say Bowie’s music has been part of the soundtrack of my life. RIP friend, and thanks for your amazing and innovative music.

I will also add that David (born David Robert Jones) was almost exactly 10 years older than me, being born on 8 January 1947. He died 2 days after his 69th birthday.  I have many favourite Bowie tracks, but the one I put on Facebook was Space Oddity, which I remember playing in a School Assembly, probably around 1974.

It is a sad day indeed.

Image credit: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/home/moslive/article-1027216/Loving-Alien-Never-seen-pictures-David-Bowie.html
Image credit: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/home/moslive/article-1027216/Loving-Alien-Never-seen-pictures-David-Bowie.html
Leave a Reply

