Books and authors in 2015

2015 has been something of a record year for reading for me. I’ve completed 40 books; mainly of the fiction genre, but I’ve included 1 non-fiction book at the end of the list. My discovery of 2015 was Patrick Gale, thanks to a magazine that my wife Angela purchased to read on a train journey to London in April. It had an article on his latest book, A Place Called Winter, and once I had read that I was addicted, as you can see from the list below! Another author I discovered was Sibel Hodge, who appears three times. I enjoyed Robert Goddards’s Wide World trilogy, which I saw advertised at the NEC on a visit there. John Lyman features twice on the list, as does James Craig and Sophie McKenzie. I was saddened by the death of Ruth Rendell, and two of her books appear on the list, including her very last book, Dark Corners, as well as The Chimney Sweeper’s Boy, an earlier book published under her alternative name, Barbara Vine. I also enjoyed Val McDermid’s latest Tony Hill/Carol Jordan book, Splinter the Silence, which ended on a positive note (but which as Val commented in a response to my Tweet, won’t last!).

Here’s a list of the books I have read:

The Templar Cross – Paul Christopher
Runaway – Peter May
Sins of the Fathers – James Craig
The Stand – Stephen King
The Deep Green – John Lyman
Black Wood – S J I Holliday
A Place Called Winter – Patrick Gale
Time of Death – Mark Billingham
You are Dead – Peter James
Rough Music – Patrick Gale
Notes from an Exhibition – Patrick Gale
A Perfectly Good Man – Patrick Gale
Friendly Fire – Patrick Gale
A Sweet Obscurity – Patrick Gale
The Whole Day Through – Patrick Gale
The Chimney Sweeper’s Boy – Barbara Vine
The Murder Road – Stephen Booth
The Ways of the World – Robert Goddard
The Corners of the Globe – Robert Goddard
The Ends of the Earth – Robert Goddard
The Madagaskar Plan – Guy Saville
Nobody’s Hero – James Craig
The Bordeaux Connection – John Paul Davis
The Good Girl – Fiona Neill
Solomon Creed – Simon Toyne
Here we Lie – Sophie McKenzie
The Outsider – My Life in Intrigue – Frederick Forsyth
The House on Cold Hill – Peter James
Social Engineer – Ian Sutherland
Dark Corners – Ruth Rendell
Invasion of Privacy – Ian Sutherland
Where the Memories Lie – Sibel Hodge
Look behind You – Sibel Hodge
Even Dogs in the Wild – Ian Rankin
Trust in Me – Sophie McKenzie
Splinter the Silence – Val McDermid
The See-through Leopard – Sibel Hodge
Prelude to Dystopia – John Lyman
Sunfail – Steven Savile

Prisoners of Geography: Ten Maps That Tell You Everything You Need To Know About The World – Tim Marshall

All in all, it was a great reading year. Let’s see if I can beat it next year!

Leave a Reply

