The day Churchill died

I remember the day Churchill died. We didn’t have a TV at home, but got the news from the radio. At the time my grandparents lived in Norwich, and we visited them that day. As a keen 8-year old, I remember asking my grandparents when we arrived at their house ‘have you heard the bad news?’ My grandmother (who died later in 1965) replied, somewhat resignedly that yes, they had. Apparently my grandfather had been going on about ‘Winnie’ all morning, and how he had met him in the war…

Those were different times, and people generally thought of Churchill as a hero, and his somewhat dubious politics were never mentioned or even thought of then. I can’t help thinking things would be very different now!

Leave a Reply

