Mobile computing technology usage – early 2015 update

This is an update on my usage of mobile computing technology as of January 2015.

During 2014 I came to the conclusion that, good as they are, Android tablets won’t ‘cut the mustard’ for power users like myself, at least as far as using Microsoft software is concerned. There are plenty of good MS Office emulation packages out there, including QuickOffice and Documents to Go, all of which I have used extensively, but they can’t (and are unlikely to be ever able to) cope with documents and presentations involving more than just words (e.g. equations, Greek characters etc.). So I looked at Microsoft tablets, and I’m now using a Surface Pro 3, which does everything I need, including running the full version of Microsoft Office. This means I won’t be in the situation, as I was in in July 2014, where I had to produce an exam paper including equations while at a conference, but couldn’t, because the Android emulation software on my tablet couldn’t cope!

All this is not to say I have stopped using the Android platform. I still have my Nexus 7 tablet, now running Android 5.0 (Lollypop), which I take to meetings and use to take notes and keep up with e-mail etc. And I have just upgraded my smartphone, from my faithful and long-serving 2 year old Samsung Galaxy S3 to a Sony Xperia Z3. It has more power, so I don’t have to ration my app usage, the battery is better, and it currently runs Android 4.4.4 (KitKat), with a likely upgrade to Lollypop later in the year. It can also receive 4G, although how long before we have access to 4G in my locality remains to be seen!

Leave a Reply

