Films, plays, music and exhibitions in 2014

Compared with 2013, I saw fewer films this year. I started with Last Vegas (on my birthday), and also saw: Devils Due, The Book Thief, Muppets Most Wanted, Rio 2, Grace of Monaco, Earth to Echo, Mr Turner, Paddington and the last of the Hobbit films; a total of 10. Of these, I would mention three as particular favourites: The Book Thief (for its charm), Grace of Monaco (for historical interest), and the blast of the Hobbit films for shear excitement and special effects.

I saw 3 plays in 2014: Blithe Spirit, Black Coffee and Dangerous Corner. All were greatly enjoyed.

I attended 5 concerts (not counting the ones I was playing in, which are mentioned in my general review), and these included an excellent LPO concert at the Victoria Hall featuring the guitarist Milos. The highlight of the year was seeing the Seekers in their 50th anniversary tour in Manchester. Two excellent tribute bands, Abba Reunion and The ELO Experience (an annual event now), and a showing of the Snowman with a live orchestra and soloists made up the rest.

I saw three exhibitions in London during the year. At the British Museum I saw Gems of Chinese Painting and Japanese Netsuke; at the Royal Academy, Dennis Hopper photographs, and at Tate Modern an exhibition of the work of Malevich. Of these, the Dennis Hopper photos were truly memorable.

So, slightly less ‘culture’ in 2014 but not a bad year nonetheless!

Leave a Reply

