GBBF 2014

This year’s Great British Beer Festival was held from 12-16 August at Kensington Olympia, and as in recent years I attended for 3 days from the Tuesday to the Thursday, including the Tuesday trade session. The festival was well-organised, and once again the volunteers did a great job.

Last year I didn’t have time to write more than a summary post about my visit, but this year I have a bit more time so I can list the beers I tried, mention some favourites, and say something about the winners of the CBOB competition.

To start with, here’s my list. Comments on the beers were made on my Untappd account (see http://untappd.com/user/robajackson).

Fuller’s Summer Ale (my usual starter), 3.9%
Belhaven Festival Ale, 3.8%
Blakemere Cherry Baby, 4.0% (my joint favourite)
Coastal Summer Blonde, 4.4%
Durham Apollo, 4.0%
Just A Minute Golden Dawn, 4.3%
Pitfield Raspberry Wheat, 5.0%
George Wakering Gold, 3.8%
Maldon English Summer, 4.2%
Twisted Oak Spun Gold, 4.5%

Havant The Foggiest (!), 4.5% (One of the best named beers)
Irving Albion, 4.1%
Oakleaf Quercus Folium, 4.0% (Another good name)
Portobello White, 4.8%
All Gates Gin Pit, 4.3%
Canterbury Pardoner’s Ale, 3.8%
Dunscar Bridge True North, 4.1%
Newby Wyke Kingston Topaz, 4.2%
Peerless Jinja Ninja, 4.0%

Golden Triangle Citropolis, 3.9%
Jo C’s Norfolk KiWi, 3.8%
Castle Rock Black Gold, 3.8% (my joint favourite)
White Horse Camarillo, 4.5%
Adnams Topaz Gold, 4.0%
Geeves Captain Gingerbread, 4.3%
Dorking Gold, 3.8%
Hepworth Summer Ale, 3.8%

The list has been divided into days, and suggests a slight falling off in stamina by the third day, but this was more because I had to leave in time to collect my bag from the hotel and catch a train home! Also, with a couple of exceptions, I’ve kept to below 4.5%. I find this to be necessary for the sake of endurance!

My favourites, as mentioned on the list were Blakemere Cherry Baby and Castle Rock Black Gold. The latter looked like a dark mild but tasted like a golden ale; an intriguing combination! The former was wonderfully sharp and fruity; an English take on a Belgian Kriek!

As for the results of the CBOB competition, full results are here, but the overall winners were:

Gold: Timothy Taylor Boltmaker, 4.0%
Silver: Oakham Citra, 4.2%
Bronze: Salopian Darwin’s Origin, 4.3%

I didn’t try to sample any of these at the Festival as once the results are announced they are usually hard to get. However, I’m not a great fan of Timothy Taylor beers anyway! Oakham Citra is a favourite of mine which I’ve had before, and I’ll be looking out for the Salopian one in the months to come.

Looking back on the Festival, it was as good as ever. This year I brought some light snacks with me each day, which was a very good move. The food stalls are varied and good quality, but not exactly cheap, so this reduced overall costs as well.

Finally, for comparison in the future, a word about the cost of the beer. I was drinking halves or thirds, but the price per pint was typically between £3.50 and £4.00 (depending on ABV), which is good for London, where I was being charged between £4.00 – £5.00 per pint in pubs, even for relatively low strength beers. I love London, but perhaps it’s as well that I live in an area where I rarely pay more than £3 for a pint!

Leave a Reply

