Foursquare: latest changes to the Android app

I have noticed that the latest ‘update’ to the Android Foursquare app, which I downloaded this morning, now forces you to check-in via Swarm. I had found a workround (see last post) which enabled Foursquare itself to still be used, and points to be obtained, but this no longer works.

Checking in via Swarm sometimes gives you points and sometimes doesn’t. It seems that the Foursquare team’s plan to remove points completely (as they have already done for mayorships) is taking effect. As I said before, this is a great pity. I’ll continue to use it to record where I travel, etc, but a lot of the fun of using it has gone.

Leave a Reply

