Using Foursquare: the current position

It’s just over 3 weeks since the Swarm app was introduced, and slightly longer than that since Foursquare started making changes to the way their app was used (specifically removing ousting of Mayorships, and reducing the number of points scored for Mayor check-ins). For the first 2 weeks I used the Swarm app, and because I had ticked the ‘New Foursquare Sneak’ box in the Foursquare settings, checking in was being done via the Swarm app, and mostly no points were being obtained for check-ins.

About a week ago I decided to stop using Swarm, and untick the ‘New Foursquare Sneak’ box on the Foursquare app. The result was that, for now, I have something resembling the ‘old’ Foursquare back. The main difference is that (mostly) only 1 point is awarded for a check-in, although you get more for checking in at a new location, or for 3 check-ins in a week at one location.  My points tally is once again looking reasonably healthy, although nothing like what it was. Foursquare still remembers when I return to a location, which is useful, so if you use it mainly as an online travel log, then it is still useful in that respect.

It is probably too much to hope that Foursquare will leave the app as it is; further Swarm integration is surely planned. But for now I can live with the app. For information, I’m using the Android version of the app on a Samsung Galaxy S3.

5 thoughts on “Using Foursquare: the current position”

  1. I’m not enjoying this “hybrid” stage. I like the Swarm app, and were I in the UK where most of my Foursquare friends are I can see how the nearby and far, far away functionality is useful.
    However, I’ve found over the past few weeks I check-in using Swarm… and that’s it. I have no idea what my score is and haven’t looked at any tips at all, which was my main use before the change. It’s become “hard” to do both of these things.

    1. If you use Foursquare rather than Swarm you can still see your points. Also you actually get points for some check-ins which you don’t with Swarm. That’s my recommended course of action!

  2. At the moment I’m sticking with Foursquare until they finalize the split change. It’s unfortunate that they are following this road. =(

Leave a Reply

