What’s wrong with using PowerPoint in teaching?

It seems that, unbeknown to me, there’s been an anti PowerPoint ‘thing’ going on amongst the Chemistry teaching community. This I find puzzling.

In my teaching, all my notes are on PowerPoint. In a typical lecture I go through the slides, explaining and elaborating on them, with the occasional use of the whiteboard for worked examples. Without it both myself and the class would spend nearly all the time writing, instead of thinking and asking questions! And I can include diagrams, crystal structures etc which I could never display otherwise, at least recognisably!

I really can’t think of a single objection to the use of PowerPoint, as long as you don’t just show the slides, but include other activities as well. It’s an indispensable and useful tool for teaching and research presentations which I wouldn’t be without.

Leave a Reply

