Watching the Winter Olympics – a new therapy?

In between all the lecture and meetings preparation of the past two weeks since returning from my Hannover trip, I have been surprised to find that I’ve enjoyed watching the Winter Olympics – especially the downhill skiing and snowboarding events. Somehow, watching someone flying down a sheer face, and perhaps combining it with some jumping and other seemingly impossible twists, has calmed me down and helped me to get through this busy period. Now it has all finished, I shall miss it.

The Sochi Winter Olympics had a difficult build up, and no doubt the questions raised before the games started have not been resolved. But in terms of organisation, it seems to have been excellent, and all the venues worked well as far as I could tell. The organisers did a good job, and setting political issues aside for the moment, they deserve congratulations.

Leave a Reply

