My Music in 2012

Having looked at my review of 2012, I’ve noticed the lack of musical mentions, apart from a rather negative comment about my orchestras’ repertoires. As a musician, music is incredibly important to me, but it is something I have to give my full attention to, and (perhaps sadly) when I’m stressed and busy, it simply doesn’t figure. But that doesn’t mean the year was music-free! Here are some of the pieces that earned a place in the soundtrack of my year.

The album that has totally bowled me over this year, and continues to work its magic, is Enya’s ‘A Memory of Trees’. Hardly a recent album, I first heard it in its entirety in the KPA (Keele’s postgraduate clubhouse) on 4th July 2012. The purity of the vocals, plus the creativity of the music, continues to entrance me, and I don’t think I will ever get tired of listening to it.

As I write this, we have just passed the anniversary of Whitney Houston’s untimely death, and I should mention my all-time Whitney favourite track, ‘One moment in time’. This first came out in 1988, when the Olympics were held in Seoul, and I started my first academic post. I realised that I don’t have this iconic track on my mp3 player, and will seek to remedy this as soon as possible! This segues nicely into the Olympics that were held in London in 2012, and the opening ceremony. In this, the piece that I particularly liked was ‘Caliban’s Dream’, by Underworld (featuring Dockhead Choir, Dame Evelyn Glennie, Only Men Aloud, Elizabeth Roberts, Esme Smith and Alex Trimble). ‘Caliban’s Dream’ has certainly earned its place in my 2012 soundtrack.

During the festive period of 2011, I watched an omnibus edition of the documentary series about the Military Wives Choir, who had sprung to prominence in 2011:with their hit song ‘Wherever You Are’, which was the Christmas No. 1 of 2011. In the autumn of 2012 it won the Classic Brit Award for Song of the Year, which was well-deserved. This song became one of my favourites of 2012. I first heard it when I downloaded it for Angela’s radio show, and was in floods of tears! It somehow struck a chord with me (no pun intended …).

Finally, my old favourites continue to sustain me, especially on my travels and when away from home. They include Supertramp’s ‘Famous Last Words’, and Renaissance’s ‘A Song for All Seasons’. I’ve been listening to these albums on and off for the last 30 years, so no doubt they will continue to be important!

Posted from WordPress for Android

Leave a Reply

