The abolition of ID cards

Our new ConDem Home Secretary, Theresa May, today announced the abolition of the ID card scheme. I seem to be one of the few people among those I know, both socially and via the web, that regrets this.

For some reason unknown to me, many people equated ID cards with an invasion of civil liberties. But they are not seen that way in the many countries that have them!

For me, an ID card would have been very useful for my travels, which sometimes take me to more ‘exotic’ locations, and where having a second form of photo ID would be useful. Even in the USA I have been asked for this, including, somewhat scarily, twice at immigration! On these occasions all I could do was show my work ID card and hope for the best.

No-one has mentioned the practical advantages of an ID card scheme, and I’m sorry that I won’t now have one. I’ll have to look into applying for a driving licence with a photo ID, as this seems the only alternative.

One thought on “The abolition of ID cards”

  1. I can see that you are an expert at your field! I am starting up a blog in the near future, and your post will be very useful for me. Thanks for all your input. With best wishes x

Leave a Reply

